The National Universities Commission has on Wednesday suspended the operational licenses of seven private universities for allegedly not meeting up to its set targets on school facilities and academic programmes as established by the NUC.

The suspended universities are
1. Lead City University,
2. Caritas University,
3. Joseph Ayo Babalola University,
4. Tansian University,
5. Madonna University,
6. Achievers University and
7. Obong University.

Confirming this development to news men, Mallam Ibrahim Yakassai, The Director of Press and Public Relations of NUC said in a telephone conversation on Wednesday night that the suspension of the licenses of the affected schools was imperative in order to continually work on the current standard of Nigerian Universities.

A top NUC official who had pleaded anonymity had affirmed that the decision ofthe NUC became unavoidably important considering that most of the private Universities have failed to lived up to the guidelines stipulated by the NUC in the running of Universities in Nigeria.

“The operators of the universities affected know their offences because so many times, we have informed them about their failings but they did not take necessary steps to address their shortcomings. Anyway, It’s just a suspension and it will be lifted as soon as they do the correct things,” the sourced said.

More details soon.

You have Found This Important Update, Your Friends Might Be Looking For This News Item, Why not Share it with them Using the SHARE button below and join us for future updates using the JOIN US ON FACEBOOK/TWITTER LINK at the top.

VNTI ̈́ ͂ ̷̐ ̈́ ̈́ ͂


About Obasi Chinedu

Obasi Chinedu Is an Author at He is a member of the Nigerian Union of Campus Journalist (NUCJ). You can reach out to Him On Twitter via @Obasi_Chinedu


  1. Avatar egbo moses says

    what are the rules/crime which were commited by this schools

  2. Avatar Adimekwe Ozioma Goodness says

    What are the said standards they did not meet up to?

Speak Your Mind